What are your favorite books for writers?

There are countless high-quality publications available on the subject of writing.

Some of my all-time faves? I can’t remember how many times I’ve joyfully referred back to Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way, and Vein of Gold. Superb, helpful, heart-opening, fear-rending, spirit-growing and motivational stuff!

While they seem a bit outdated now, I enjoyed The Sell Your Novel Toolkit by Elizabeth Lyon and The Wealthy Writer by Michael Meanwell.

UC Irvine has a fiction novel writing class which uses Donald Maass’ Writing the Breakout Novel Workbook. I will certainly be checking into it!

I want to hear from you!

Which ones are your favorites? Please share in the comment box below!

10 Comments

Filed under Fiction Novel Writing, For the love of writing, Freelance Writing, Who is Writing What?

10 responses to “What are your favorite books for writers?

  1. My favourites are Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg – you can just pick it up, open at random and be inspired; also Fearless Creating by Eric Maisel – about creativity in general and fantastic for getting you writing. I’m planning a series based on his breakdown of the creative process for my blog at the moment – coming soon. Like your blog – lots of interesting posts to read..

    • I’m going to have to pick up a copy of Writing Down The Bones, Amanda! It seems to be a popular choice. Thanks for your valuable input! I took at look at your blog–very entertaining stuff! Loved it.

    • Thanks for these excellent suggestions, Jesdavidson. When you begin your Maisel series, please check back with me if you would like to present them on this blog as guest posts. I would be happy to promote your work!

      • Hi Rebecca. Thanks for your kind comments on my blog. It’s kind of new so I’m working hard to fill it with interesting stuff. I would love to present my creative writing series on your blog. I’ve scheduled it to start on July 18th and it’ll run in 6 parts, with an intro on july 15th. Have a look and see what you think. If you’re interested in running it – let me know. thanks, Jes.

  2. I agree wholeheartedly with “Writing Down the Bones!” I also love “Bird by Bird” (Anne Lamott) and “Take Joy” (Jane Yolen). Two very helpful/instructional books for beginners in their respective areas are; “You CAN Write Children’s Books” (Tracey E. Dils), and “Six Figure Freelancing” (Kelly James-Enger).

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention What are your favorite books for writers? « the written word -- Topsy.com

  4. My favourites are Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg – you can just pick it up, open at random and be inspired; also Fearless Creating by Eric Maisel – about creativity in general and fantastic for getting you writing. I’m planning a series based on his breakdown of the creative process for my blog at the moment – coming soon. Like your blog – lots of interesting posts to read..
    +1

  5. Pingback: Free Your Pen — Eric Maisel’s advice for “Wishing” « the written word

  6. Very nice article, thanks! I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed. Please keep up posting.

Leave a Reply

